Show Printer Friendly Message Reply To Topic
Author Topic : Canon upgrade 
DavidEvans

Thread Starter / Photographer
City: Newtown
Views : 2014  Nov 10, 2012 6:38am

Hello guys,

I'm looking at upgrading.

ATM I have a basic Canon 350D, biut since people have been very complimentary on what I've done I'm going to splash the cash and get something superior.

I've been looking at a 5D but then between the cost a 7D looks very comparable. I'm sticking to Canon as I have a fair few lens's now.

What are your thoughts on this?

Thanks Dave

Send Nm Mail to DavidEvans Add DavidEvans to your favorites list
Top  IP: Logged Report Post Reply Reply w/Quote
dunstaffnage

Photographer
City: Bristol
RE: Canon upgrade Nov 10, 2012 6:52am

I have been using a 5d mkii for just over 3 years. Have just invested in the mkiii - it is far better. The focus system in the mkii is poor. The 7d is better in this respect but is not full format. You should consider if your existing lenses will work with full format- if they won't you will be better with the 7d.

Send Nm Mail to dunstaffnage Add dunstaffnage to your favorites list
DavidEvans

RE: Canon upgrade Nov 10, 2012 7:05am

Thanks, that helps me.

dunstaffnage

Photographer
RE: Canon upgrade Nov 10, 2012 7:35am

Final thought from me is that neither 5ds have internal flash. If you don't already own an external unit it will add cost.
Mark

silksky

Photographer
City: Hemel Hempstead
RE: Canon upgrade Nov 10, 2012 7:47am

I had the 450D but the 7D came out soon after and I wanted one but the price was out of my reach but I really liked the extra features. When the 60D came out, it had all the features of the 7D that I wanted. It has the resolution and the weatherproofing of the 7D but not the all metal construction which makes it lighter. I was able to buy a 10-22mm lens with the difference in price.

Send Nm Mail to silksky Add silksky to your favorites list
DavidEvans

RE: Canon upgrade Nov 10, 2012 8:03am